View topic - Catching a disc near the sidelines

Catching a disc near the sidelines

Clarify Ultimate Rules and post other useful Ultimate related stuff!

Catching a disc near the sidelines

Postby nobdyhere » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:20 am

I've been struggling with this one trying to wrap my head around it.

If a person begins the catch with a foot inbounds and bobbles its momentarily, but by the time the person gains control is straddling the line. Would you consider him OB or IN?
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:13 pm

Postby GwaiLo » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:45 am

User avatar
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:48 pm

Postby tugbo » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:17 am

Gwailo is right. Out of bounds. The relevant rule is IX.C.


A player contacting the out-of-bounds area is out-of-bounds. A player who is not out-of-bounds is in-bounds. An airborne player retains in-bounds or out-of-bounds status until that player contacts the playing field or the out-of-bounds area.

The following exceptions apply:

IX.C.1. If momentum carries a player out-of-bounds after landing in-bounds with possession of an in-bounds disc, the player is considered in-bounds. For this exception to apply, that player's first point of ground contact with any area must be completely in-bounds. ...

IX.C.2, IX.C.3 not relevant to the discussion

Exception IX.C.1 does not apply because possession was not gained prior to going out of bounds.

The definition of possession II.O:
Possession of the disc: Sustained contact with, and control of, a non-spinning disc.
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:55 pm

Return to Ultimate Rules and Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests