View topic - Is the "contact" rule used in TUC?

Is the "contact" rule used in TUC?

Clarify Ultimate Rules and post other useful Ultimate related stuff!

Is the "contact" rule used in TUC?

Postby tugbo » Sun May 25, 2014 1:11 pm

Is the "contact" rule used in TUC leagues? Or was it explained at the captain's meeting only because it is a common rule to institute with the captain's clause?

The rule is explained in the 2014 captain's meeting slides (http://tuc.org/files/2014/captains_meeting_2014.pdf)

Contact
•
If contact occurs between the thrower and marker that would constitute a foul under XVI.H.3.a but the thrower does not release the disc, "contact" may be called. Play does not stop and the marker resumes the stall count at "one". Other than resetting the stall count to "one" after the first instance, the "contact" call is treated as any other marking violation.


It is listed as an experimental rule on the usa ultimate site http://www.usaultimate.org/resources/of ... fault.aspx rather than a part of 11th edition rules.
tugbo
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:55 pm

Postby -JR- » Mon May 26, 2014 2:02 pm

Yes the contact rule is used in TUC league play and that is why it was explained. We are sorry for the lack of clarity on this. The rule began as an experimental rule last year and it has seemingly now been adopted full-time and likely will be added to the next set of USAU Rules (12th Edition). Unfortunately, the USAU website has not been updated regarding the rule, but the rule is being formally used by Ultimate Canada (in CUC Series Manual) and the USAU. Therefore it has been adopted by TUC.

We will send a reminder to captains and update the TUC website accordingly.
User avatar
-JR-
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:16 am

Contact Rule, more clarity

Postby JonB » Wed Aug 06, 2014 10:20 am

Here is a fuller explanation of the Contact rule:

Contact Rule - If contact occurs between the thrower and marker that would constitute a foul under XVI.H.3.a, but the thrower does not release the disc, "contact" may be called. Play does not stop and the marker resumes the stall count at "one." Other than resetting the stall count to "one" after the first instance, the "contact" call is treated as any other marking violation. The marker may contest the "contact" call by calling "violation," which stops play. If the thrower calls "contact" after beginning the throwing motion and subsequently releases the disc, it is treated as if the thrower called "foul."
"Disc through the heart, and you're to blame"
Jon "Bon Jovi" Brandt
User avatar
JonB
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:27 pm


Return to Ultimate Rules and Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest