View topic - what's the ruling?

what's the ruling?

Clarify Ultimate Rules and post other useful Ultimate related stuff!

what's the ruling?

Postby Nigel » Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:01 pm

http://www.the-huddle.org/features/2007 ... inals/2-1/

from finals of UPAs last year.

Pull in a crosswind. Hits the grounds, bounces off the O player's body and rolls towards the back of the endzone. In this case, Sockeye picks it up and immediately gives away a Callahan.

Question - say it rolls out the back. What's the rule? If it didn't touch anyone, you would get it on the front endzone line, but in this case?
Nigel
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 4:10 pm

Postby rahil_s » Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:05 pm

If it touches someone and rolls out the back, you have to play it from the spot it rolled out (at the back or side of the endzone). If no one has touched it, you get to walk it to the goal line at the spot where it went out.
rahil_s
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 2:05 pm

Postby GregS » Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:11 pm

rahil_s wrote:If no one has touched it, you get to walk it to the goal line at the spot where it went out.

Of course, what Rahil means is, "the point on the goal line closest to the spot where it went out".
Did you get that thing I sent you?
User avatar
GregS
TUC Webmaster
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:45 pm

Postby reentoe » Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:43 am

Can I ask a related question - what happens if there is a turnover in the endzone. The offence picks it up and starts walking it to the goal line. The defence is waiting at the goal line to set the mark. The offencive player decides to tap it in half way to the goal line and throw it to an open receiver and avoid the mark. Can he do that?

My question is: once you've made the intention clear of bringing the disk to the goal line, can you stop half way and tap it into play to avoid the mark (or more likely, the cup.)
User avatar
reentoe
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:01 am

Postby rahil_s » Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:37 am

Travel.

If someone starts walking it up, then he has to walk it up to the goal line.
rahil_s
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 2:05 pm

Re: what's the ruling?

Postby Richard K » Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:36 pm

Nigel wrote:Pull in a crosswind. Hits the grounds, bounces off the O player's body and rolls towards the back of the endzone. Say it rolls out the back. What's the rule?

Rahil is bang on, the rule in question is VIII.B.6. (this case is part c):
    VIII.B.6.c. If the disc initially hits in-bounds and then becomes out-of-bounds after being touched by the receiving team, it is put into play at the spot on the playing field nearest to where it first crossed the perimeter line to become out-of-bounds.
Richard K
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:34 am

Postby Richard K » Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:39 pm

reentoe, Rahil is absolutely correct again, this is rule X.A.
    X.A. If a turnover results in a team gaining possession in the end zone that they are defending, the player in possession must immediately either:
      1. put the disc into play at the spot of the disc (to fake a throw or pause after gaining possession commits the player to put the disc into play at that spot); or
      2. Carry the disc directly to the closest point on the goal line and put it into play at that spot. If this option is chosen, the player taking possession must put the disc into play at the goal line. Failure to do so is a travel.
Richard K
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:34 am


Return to Ultimate Rules and Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron