View topic - Hiding the disc

Hiding the disc

Clarify Ultimate Rules and post other useful Ultimate related stuff!

Hiding the disc

Postby E.T. » Fri Jul 21, 2017 5:43 pm

There doesn't seem to be anything in the rules, but I'm curious what the folks here think:
A handler fakes the throw then while the marker looks away jams the disc between his legs and pretends he doesn't have it.
Marker stopped counting in confusion.

Would this be considered an intentional SOTG violation?
Would this be considered a lack of demonstrated control of the disc?

If after some discussion we proceed as if there's no violation, what happens to the stall count?

TIA
User avatar
E.T.
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:57 am

Re: Hiding the disc

Postby tjweir » Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:13 pm

According to UPA 11th: "Possession of the disc: Sustained contact with, and control of, a non-spinning disc."
So I suppose it's legit by the definition.

Whether or not it's bad spirit is conditional I'd claim.
I would however, claim that it's a goofy ass play.
tjweir
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:49 am

Re: Hiding the disc

Postby GregS » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:32 am

Yeah, I don't see anything wrong with it. Stall count should restart at whatever it got to before play was halted, though it seems like maybe the sort of thing where it should be no higher than 6.
Did you get that thing I sent you?
User avatar
GregS
TUC Webmaster
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:45 pm


Return to Ultimate Rules and Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron