View topic - Whose Catch?

Whose Catch?

Clarify Ultimate Rules and post other useful Ultimate related stuff!

Whose Catch?

Postby larrypmac » Sun Jul 28, 2013 10:18 pm

I know that if there's a pass and the offensive and defensive players both catch it at the same time, it goes to the offense, as it is the job of the defense to prevent the offensive player from making the catch, and in that case he doesn't.

But what if the defensive player catches the disc first, and then the offensive player grabs it shortly after? This happened in my game last week. The offensive player claimed that it was his disc, but the defensive player claimed that he had it first, making his team the offensive team. I can see this - once the defensive player has control of the disc, it's a turnover.

Larry
larrypmac
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:17 pm

Postby smash-crunch » Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:33 am

Obviously the disc would go to the defender then. What was the offensive player giving as a reason that the disc should be his/hers?
smash-crunch
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 10:23 pm

Postby larrypmac » Mon Jul 29, 2013 10:22 am

smash-crunch wrote:Obviously the disc would go to the defender then. What was the offensive player giving as a reason that the disc should be his/hers?


The disc was in the air. The defender grabbed it, and then the offense grabbed it too, before the defender ha da chance to pull it away. He thought he might have had it at the same time.

Larry
larrypmac
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:17 pm

Postby HotSauce » Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:25 pm

Strip!
User avatar
HotSauce
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:02 pm

Postby tugbo » Mon Jul 29, 2013 4:10 pm

larrypmac wrote:
smash-crunch wrote:Obviously the disc would go to the defender then. What was the offensive player giving as a reason that the disc should be his/hers?


The disc was in the air. The defender grabbed it, and then the offense grabbed it too, before the defender ha da chance to pull it away. He thought he might have had it at the same time.

Larry


Relevant rules:

II.O Possession of the disc: Sustained contact with, and control of, a non-spinning disc

II.O.4 The team whose player is in possession, or whose players may pick up the disc, is considered the team in possession. If the disc is in the air following a legal pass, the thrower's team is considered the team in possession.

XVI.H.3.d

Strip: If a defensive player initiates contact with the disc after an offensive player has gained possession of the disc, and the offensive player loses possession as a result, it is a strip. A strip is a subset of fouls and is treated the same way.

XV.D If offensive and defensive players catch the disc simultaneously, the offense retains possession.

So if the defender D1 catches the disc first then he/she is immediately on offense. D1 can and should call a strip.

If the defender and the offensive player catch the disc at the same then offense keeps possession.

If one player thinks the catch was at the same time and the other player thinks the defense caught it first then it goes back to thrower (XVI.D)
tugbo
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:55 pm


Return to Ultimate Rules and Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron