View topic - Receiving on the line

Receiving on the line

Clarify Ultimate Rules and post other useful Ultimate related stuff!

Receiving on the line

Postby pblizzar » Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:23 pm

A receiver catchs the disc with one foot firmly planted in, and one firmly planted out (i.e. not caught in the air).

I'm curious about what the ruling is for catches while straddling the line. If the disc is caught in the air, the resolution is the first-point-of-contact rule, but how is this resolved when the receiver is not in the air.
pblizzar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 6:20 pm

Postby -JR- » Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:52 pm

The receiver is out of bounds.

Per UPA Rule IX(C): "A player contacting the out-of-bounds area is out-of-bounds. A player who is not out-of-bounds is in-bounds. An airborne player retains in-bounds or out-of-bounds status until that player contact the playing field or the out-of-bounds area."
User avatar
-JR-
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:16 am

Postby Gonzo » Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:19 pm

To explain in english what JR just said, the rule for a player being out of bounds is that ANY contact with something out-of-bounds renders the receiver as out-of-bounds. So catching the disc while straddling the line (one foot is in contact with the out-of-bounds ground) would mean that the receiver is out-of-bounds. Note that this rule does not apply to defenders, there are different rules for determine when/where they are considered to be out-of-bounds.

Bill
Gonzo
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:22 am

In/Out of Bounds

Postby pblizzar » Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:36 pm

A few more questions:

1) If an airborne receiver's first point of contact is inbounds, and their second is out of bounds, i.e. their other foot, is the play inbounds or out of bounds?

2) If a defending player is on the field, but runs out of bounds and contacts the disc in the air, is it a dead disc?
pblizzar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 6:20 pm

Re: In/Out of Bounds

Postby Peeters » Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:21 pm

pblizzar wrote:A few more questions:

1) If an airborne receiver's first point of contact is inbounds, and their second is out of bounds, i.e. their other foot, is the play inbounds or out of bounds?


In. IX. C. 1. It's all about first point of contact. If they landed with one foot which was in bounds, they're in bounds.

2) If a defending player is on the field, but runs out of bounds and contacts the disc in the air, is it a dead disc?


Still live. A OB defensive player touching the disc doesn't automatically stop the play as OB. The disc can still come back in. IX. E. "A disc becomes out of bounds when it first contacts the out of bounds area, contacts an out of bounds offensive player, or is caught by an out of bounds defensive player."
Peeters
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 3:45 pm

Postby larrypmac » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:13 pm

For a receiver with both feet on the ground, the one that is worst for him counts. If he has one foot in the end zone and one foot outside the end zone, then he's outside the end zone. If he has one foot in bounds, and one foot out of bounds, then he's out of bounds.

If the receiver is airborne and lands with both feet at the same time, the same rules stand as if he was already on the ground.

If the receiver is not upright, the same kind of interpretation applies. If he's laying out, if there's a first point of contact, that's what goes, but if he lands full body, the worst spot he's touching counts.

Another similar question - if a player does not have control on a catch and is tipping the disc and moving... if the receiver touches the sideline, he's temporarily out of bounds, and has the get back in bounds before the next bobble.

The line, by the way, is out of bounds. And the goal line is part of the field proper, not counting as "in".

Larry
larrypmac
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:17 pm

Postby Mortakai » Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:57 pm

Gonzo wrote:To explain in english what JR just said, the rule for a player being out of bounds is that ANY contact with something out-of-bounds renders the receiver as out-of-bounds. So catching the disc while straddling the line (one foot is in contact with the out-of-bounds ground) would mean that the receiver is out-of-bounds. Note that this rule does not apply to defenders, there are different rules for determine when/where they are considered to be out-of-bounds.

Bill

Actually, related to this last sentence... this DOES apply to defenders, and they ARE also considered out of bounds. Whether the disc, on the other hand, is out of bounds or not, is determined by another separate rule.
User avatar
Mortakai
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:28 pm


Return to Ultimate Rules and Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron