View topic - Run over disc "fake out", Violation?

Run over disc "fake out", Violation?

Clarify Ultimate Rules and post other useful Ultimate related stuff!

Run over disc "fake out", Violation?

Postby zdoerr » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:31 am

Can someone please confirm if a violation occurred or not.

Turn-over occurred in our favour. I ran up to the disc and was about to take possession of the disc when I was called off by a team mate behind me. I had not touched the disc with either my hand or feet and then ran past it. I had not stopped in front or on top of the disc. I was told that since I had attempted or "faked out" the other team, it was my disc to handle.

Does such a violation occur?

Thank you,
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:17 pm

Postby bleung » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:34 am

Short answer: No.

Long answer: I will leave for others to look up :wink:
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 9:45 pm

Postby Bass » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:49 am

probably the only thing in the rules (that I could find) that is the closest to what you are describing

Defensive self-check: If play is to restart with a check, but no offensive player is in possession of the disc at the appropriate spot, play restarts with a defensive self-check. To restart play using a defensive self-check:

1. the disc is placed at the appropriate spot on the field;
2. the offense must acknowledge readiness; and
3. the defender closest to the disc loudly announces "in play."

so long answer is no?
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:46 am

Postby GregS » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:02 am

I don't think anyone can post a rule that clarifies this, because there is no such rule. You could even stop at the disc, bend down and touch it, and then sprint to the end zone. As long as you don't pick it up, it's not a violation. Perhaps very slightly poor spirit, if done on purpose, but no illegal.
Did you get that thing I sent you?
User avatar
TUC Webmaster
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:45 pm

Postby fitzie » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:04 am

Greg is right - you won't find a rule that clarifies something that is totally legal. It's one of those urban myths that has been circulating for years.
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:00 am

Postby lwswong » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:14 am

fitzie wrote:Greg is right - you won't find a rule that clarifies something that is totally legal. It's one of those urban myths that has been circulating for years.

perhaps a "top 10 rules myths" document for the next captains meeting / clinic can help clarify these things for teams? there's probably a lot more than 10....
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:24 pm

Postby muskokajoe » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:44 am

I mentioned this to an opponent about a month ago in a "just so you know, I think that might be a foul" approach. His response was, "oh? If it's a foul, call it!", which wasn't as receptive as I'd hoped for. Then after quizzing most of my bench, I went and found the guy again and confessed/apologised that it is apparently not an actual foul (as confirmed here) and he acknowledged that it might not represent the best of spirit either, and we proceeded to enjoy the rest of the game. :)

I swear my brain is about as impermeable as a coffee filter - I learn stuff, and then need to relearn it all in a year or three. I do like using the phrase "I've forgotten more than you'll ever know", though. ;)
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
User avatar
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:59 pm


Postby zdoerr » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:57 am

Thank you all for a quick response.
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:17 pm

Postby nfpete » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:01 pm

It's *kinda* close to the delay of game rules..

XIX.B. "It is the responsibility of all players to avoid any delay when starting, restarting, or continuing play. This includes standing over the disc or taking more time than reasonably necessary to put the disc into play
This includes standing back from the disc, wandering around to gain more time, etc. Pretending not to delay while delaying is still delaying."

XIII.A.5 "If an offensive player unnecessarily delays putting the disc into play in violation of rule XIX.B, a defender within three meters of the spot the disc is to be put into play may issue a delay of game warning instead of calling a violation. If the behavior in violation of rule XIX.B is not immediately stopped, the marker may initiate and continue a stall count, regardless of the actions of the offense. In order to invoke this rule, after announcing delay of game, the marker must give the offense two seconds to react to the warning, and then announce disc in before initiating the stall count."
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 8:07 am

Return to Ultimate Rules and Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests