View topic - Hiding the disc

Page 1 of 1

Hiding the disc

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 5:43 pm
by E.T.
There doesn't seem to be anything in the rules, but I'm curious what the folks here think:
A handler fakes the throw then while the marker looks away jams the disc between his legs and pretends he doesn't have it.
Marker stopped counting in confusion.

Would this be considered an intentional SOTG violation?
Would this be considered a lack of demonstrated control of the disc?

If after some discussion we proceed as if there's no violation, what happens to the stall count?

TIA

Re: Hiding the disc

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:13 pm
by tjweir
According to UPA 11th: "Possession of the disc: Sustained contact with, and control of, a non-spinning disc."
So I suppose it's legit by the definition.

Whether or not it's bad spirit is conditional I'd claim.
I would however, claim that it's a goofy ass play.

Re: Hiding the disc

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:32 am
by GregS
Yeah, I don't see anything wrong with it. Stall count should restart at whatever it got to before play was halted, though it seems like maybe the sort of thing where it should be no higher than 6.